• Home
  • Doan selected to inaugural KU Diversity Scholars Program

Doan selected to inaugural KU Diversity Scholars Program

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Dr. Alesha Doan has been selected as one of the 12 KU faculty members in the inaugural Diversity Scholars Program. The program is designed to promote broader faculty adoption of teaching methods, strategies, and course materials that enhance inclusivity and respect for diversity in KU classes.

The Diversity Scholars Program, funded through the Offices of Faculty Development and Academic Affairs and working in consultation with the Office of Diversity and Equity in the Provost Office, is envisioned as a collegial, hands-on, monthly seminar for a small cohort of interested faculty who would like to engage in these topics at a deliberate and self-reflective level. Faculty in the seminar will work together - through readings, discussion, and the workshopping of ideas - on incorporating greater attention to diversity (broadly defined) and more inclusive practices in their classes. Participants will also discuss department- or unit-specific strategies for working with colleagues in their own areas to promote and facilitate inclusive teaching and mentoring strategies in their departments / units.

Program goals include improving the retention, progression and academic success of students from underrepresented groups, as well as increasing all students’ understanding and respect for diversity.

Faculty members leading the program are Marta Caminero-Santangelo and Darren Canady, Department of English, and Shannon Portillo, School of Public Affairs and Administration.

Professor Doan stated that she was inspired to apply because of a couple of conversations she had with School MPA alumni. “Both of the alumni I spoke with (and did not know prior to my respective conversations with them) said that they felt under-prepared to deal with issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion in their current positions. So, I decided to propose developing a new course for the Diversity Scholars Program application that would address some of these needs.”

Dr. Doan is now developing a graduate course titled, "Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Public Organizations," which she will teach at the Edwards campus in Spring, 2018.

See all of the 2016-2017 Diversity Scholars.


Ruth DeWitt, Communications Manager
KU School of Public Affairs and Administration
Emailed media requests will receive faster service.

SPAA Events & Deadlines
PMC Events, Classes & Deadlines
Ranked in the top 10 master of public affairs programs in the nation
—U.S. News & World Report
#1 in the nation for city management and urban policy

— U.S. News & World Report

#5 in the nation for public management

— U.S. News & World Report
Three faculty have won W.T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence
Rosemary O’Leary is KU’s Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor of Public Administration
Four MPA graduates have been elected president of the International City/County Management Association (ICMA)
Founder of the Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory (JPART)
Four faculty are National Academy of Public Administration Fellows
Bob Kipp, vice president of Hallmark Cards, was a 2012 recipient of the CLAS Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award
Kathleen Sebelius, U.S. secretary of health and human services, was a 2009 recipient of the CLAS Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award
KU Today
Connect with Us

Twitter Facebook

Stay Connected

Subscribe to our email list

* indicates required
Email Format

View previous campaigns.