• Home
  • Distinguished Professor Rosemary O’Leary to receive Gaus award

Distinguished Professor Rosemary O’Leary to receive Gaus award

Monday, May 30, 2016

Distinguished Professor Rosemary O’Leary has been selected to receive the American Political Science Association’s 2016 John Gaus Award and Lectureship. This annual APSA career award honors the recipient’s lifetime of exemplary scholarship in the joint tradition of political science and public administration and, more generally, recognizes and encourages scholarship in public administration.

Rosemary O'LearyDr. O’Leary will receive the award during the APSA Award Ceremony at the Marriott Philadelphia in Philadelphia, PA on August 31; she will also deliver the Gaus Lecture on September 2 at 6:15 p.m. during the APSA Annual Meeting in Philadelphia. The lecture will be published at a later date in PS: Political Science & Politics, an APSA publication.

The award committee included Lael Keiser (University of Missouri), chair, Frances Berry (Florida State University), and Dan Carpenter (Harvard University). These committee members are APSA members who reviewed all of the nominations and chose O’Leary for her “excellence in the profession.”

O’Leary joins a list of distinguished Gaus award winners, including our own Dr. George Frederickson who received the award in 1999.

O'Leary is the Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor of Public Administration at the University of Kansas, following a 24 year career teaching at the Maxwell School of Syracuse University and the School of Public and Environmental Affairs at Indiana University-Bloomington. During the 2015-2016 academic year, she has served as one of nine KU faculty members in the selective Senior Administrative Fellows Program.

O'Leary is the author or editor of eleven books and more than 100 articles and book chapters on public management. Her current research is on collaboration as a management and leadership strategy.

In addition to the Gaus Award, she has won eleven national research awards and nine teaching awards. In 2015, she was honored by the American Society for Public Administration (ASPA) with a co-authored article being listed among one of the 75 most influential articles in the history of the journal Public Administration Review. She is the 2014 winner of the Dwight Waldo award, given by ASPA for "persons who have made outstanding contributions to the professional literature of public administration over an extended career." She is the only person to win three Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs, and Administration awards for Best Dissertation (1989), Excellence in Teaching (1996) and Distinguished Research (2004).

An elected member of the National Academy of Public Administration, O’Leary was a senior Fulbright scholar in Malaysia and in the Philippines. In 2014 she was an Ian Axford Public Policy Scholar in New Zealand. From 2003 to 2005 O’Leary was a member of the NASA’s Return to Flight Task Group assembled in response to the Columbia space shuttle accident. She also has served as a consultant to the U.S. Department of the Interior, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the Indiana Department of Environmental Management, the International City/County Management Association, the National Science Foundation, and the National Academy of Sciences.

Founded in 1903, the American Political Science Association is the leading professional organization for the study of political science and serves more than 13,000 members in more than 80 countries. With a range of programs and services for individuals, departments, and institutions, APSA brings together political scientists from all fields of inquiry, regions, and occupational endeavors within and outside academe to deepen our understanding of politics, democracy, and citizenship throughout the world.


Ruth DeWitt, Communications Manager
KU School of Public Affairs and Administration
Emailed media requests will receive faster service.

SPAA Events & Deadlines
PMC Events, Classes & Deadlines
Ranked in the top 10 master of public affairs programs in the nation
—U.S. News & World Report
#1 in the nation for city management and urban policy

— U.S. News & World Report

#5 in the nation for public management

— U.S. News & World Report
Three faculty have won W.T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence
Rosemary O’Leary is KU’s Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor of Public Administration
Four MPA graduates have been elected president of the International City/County Management Association (ICMA)
Founder of the Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory (JPART)
Four faculty are National Academy of Public Administration Fellows
Bob Kipp, vice president of Hallmark Cards, was a 2012 recipient of the CLAS Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award
Kathleen Sebelius, U.S. secretary of health and human services, was a 2009 recipient of the CLAS Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award
KU Today
Connect with Us

Twitter Facebook

Stay Connected

Subscribe to our email list

* indicates required
Email Format

View previous campaigns.