• Home
  • SPAA celebrates accomplishments of 51 graduates

SPAA celebrates accomplishments of 51 graduates

Thursday, June 5, 2014

LAWRENCE -- On April 18, 2014 the School of Public Affairs and Administration celebrated our 2014 graduates with our usual graduation banquet. To view photos from the 2014 graduation banquet, visit http://j.mp/SPAAGrad14Pics. (Click to view this Facebook album.)

We are proud of our 51 graduates and their tremendous accomplishments. On behalf of the faculty and staff, we’d like to extend special recognition to our award recipients for their outstanding achievements in public affairs and administration.












2014 MPA graduates

Pi Alpha Alpha
Pi Alpha Alpha is the national honor society for students of public administration. It promotes excellence in the study and practice of public administration and public affairs. Membership into this society is limited to those distinguished with academic achievement of an above 3.7 GPA for MPA students, and for undergraduates, an above 3.7 GPA plus top 10% in overall class-standing. The following students have elected to join Pi Alpha Alpha:

Steve Allton
Cynthia Beall
Blaine Bengston
Kim Brown
Zachary Carr
Amy Ervin
Emily Farley
Jessie Funk
Maurice Green
Jesse Jones
Elizabeth Kanost
Alan Shorthouse
Bessie Tolbert
Sonta Wilburn

Distinguished Service Award
The Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the School through working with faculty and students and advancing School goals. This year the award goes to:
Alan Shorthouse

School of Public Affairs & Administration Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year
Jeanette Blackmar









Stanley Fisher Memorial Award
The Stanley Fisher Memorial Award is for Outstanding Graduate Students of Public Administration and is presented annually to students who have shown interest in public administration beyond their classroom work, have performed exceptionally well in public administration courses, and have applied insights of public administration to their campus activities. Stanley Fisher was the city manager of Warrensburg, Missouri. He was tragically killed in an automobile accident on April 30, 1966, when he was President-Elect of the Greater Kansas City Chapter of ASPA. This award is presented in honor of him and his contributions to public administration. This award was formally given at the Greater Kansas Chapter of the American Society of Public Administration Awards Breakfast on May 21.
Jessie Funk

Outstanding MPA Student Award
The Outstanding MPA Student Award is given to an MPA student who has demonstrated excellence in intellectual work and going beyond course assignments to enhance learning.
Kim Brown

Scott Brooks Award
Scott Brooks was a member of the faculty at KU in the mid-1970s. Very quickly Scott became an essential faculty member, and he led resurgence in the local government concentration. No faculty member has meant more to the local government emphasis in the program since Ed Stene retired. Scott was a remarkable person and the criteria for the award capture his passion for the MPA program. They are: Compassion for Colleagues, Dedication to Public Service, and Enthusiasm for Life.
Travis Elliott



Ruth DeWitt, Communications Manager
KU School of Public Affairs and Administration
Emailed media requests will receive faster service.