• Home
  • School celebrates accomplishments of graduates

School celebrates accomplishments of graduates

Friday, April 24, 2015

MPA degree graduates

LAWRENCE -- On April 17, 2015 the School of Public Affairs and Administration celebrated our 2015 graduates with our annual graduation banquet. To view photos from the 2015 graduation banquet, visit http://j.mp/KUSPAAGrad15Pics. (Click to view this Facebook album.) Also feel free to explore #KUSPAAGrad15 on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to view tagged pictures from the evening. Graduates and guests may purchase these photos through the end of June from our photographer's website here: http://proofs.ad-astra-photography.com/event/1411930

On behalf of the faculty and staff, we’d like to extend special recognition to our award recipients for their outstanding achievements in the undergraduate, masters or doctoral programs, and generally, in the public affairs and administration field.

Pi Alpha Alpha
Pi Alpha Alpha is the national honor society for students of public administration. It promotes excellence in the study and practice of public administration and public affairs. Membership into this society is limited to those distinguished with academic achievement of an above 3.7 GPA for MPA students, and for undergraduates, an above 3.7 GPA plus top 10% in overall class-standing. The following students have elected to join Pi Alpha Alpha:
Kyle Abbott
Glen Cole
Renee Dinsmore
Kelly Fann
Erika Garcia Reyes
Christina Hayhow
Kristin Kelly
Liz Long
Travis Machalek
Danielle Marten
Craig McCullah
Nancy McCurdy
Lisa Miller
Susan Mong
Kirsten Silveira
Kevin Smith
Rachel Willis
Christopher Winger II

Undergraduate Award
The Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual (or individuals) who has made a significant contribution to the School through working with faculty and students and advancing School goals. This year the award goes to:
Renee Dinsmore
Erika Garcia Reyes


School of Public Affairs & Administration Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year
All doctoral students who have served as a GTA within the last two years are eligible for the GTA Teaching Award, except those who won the award the year before. The award is determined by all School undergraduate majors through a secret ballot conducted by the Awards Committee.

Criteria for this award include:  1) excellence in teaching techniques, 2) excellence in curriculum development, and 3) excellence in student learning.
Misty Grayer

Stanley Fisher Memorial Award
The Stanley Fisher Memorial Award is for Outstanding Graduate Students of Public Administration and is presented annually to students who have shown interest in public administration beyond their classroom work, have performed exceptionally well in public administration courses, and have applied insights of public administration to their campus activities. Stanley Fisher was the city manager of Warrensburg, Missouri. He was tragically killed in an automobile accident on April 30, 1966, when he was President-Elect of the Greater Kansas City Chapter of ASPA. This award is presented in honor of him and his contributions to public administration. This award will be formally given at the Greater Kansas Chapter of the American Society of Public Administration Awards Breakfast on May 20.
Nancy McCurdy


Outstanding MPA Student Award
The Outstanding MPA Student Award is given to an MPA student who has demonstrated excellence in intellectual work and going beyond course assignments to enhance learning.
Travis Machalek


Scott Brooks Award
Scott Brooks was a member of the faculty at KU in the mid-1970s. Very quickly Scott became an essential faculty member, and he led resurgence in the local government concentration. No faculty member has meant more to the local government emphasis in the program since Ed Stene retired. Scott was a remarkable person and the criteria for the award capture his passion for the MPA program. They are: Compassion for Colleagues, Dedication to Public Service, and Enthusiasm for Life.
Barack Matite

Undergraduate degree graduates


Ruth DeWitt, Communications Manager
KU School of Public Affairs and Administration
Emailed media requests will receive faster service.