• Home
  • Getha-Taylor and O’Leary participated in invitation-only NSF workshop

Getha-Taylor and O’Leary participated in invitation-only NSF workshop

Monday, March 2, 2015

Professors Heather Getha-Taylor and Rosemary O’Leary participated in an invitation-only National Science Foundation (NSF) workshop, “Curriculum Blueprint to Enhance Social Scientists’ Capacities to Create and Sustain Social Change.” The workshop was held the weekend of February 27-28, 2015 at the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs at University of Texas at Austin.

The invitation letter from Co-Primary Investigators Angela Evans and Jenny Knowles Morrison indicated, “The workshop aim is part of a larger effort to expand knowledge about how to enhance the capacity of a wide range of social, behavioral, and economic-focused scientists to better engage with the policymaking community.”

The workshop invitees included a range of national thought leaders, policymakers, curriculum designers, and veteran ‘catalysts’ engaged in successful innovative partnerships of this nature. During the workshop, the 50 participants built a curriculum to teach faculty how to translate and share their research findings for a broader policy audience.

The workshop modules were designed to answer the question: “Can social and behavioral sciences researchers use their expertise to provide counsel and advice to policymakers in a manner that effectively contributes to the formulation of innovative policies that lead to sustained social good?”

The two-day intensive workshop included large and small group work on drafting modules, questions, course objectives, and learning outcomes; developing pedagogy, delivery protocols, content descriptions, and performance measures; and identifying curriculum materials, exercises, and teaching resources. At the end of the workshop, the curriculum of each small group was put through peer review.

The end product of this workshop was a draft short-course to teach NSF researchers how to better explain their findings and the relevance of their research to policy makers.


Ruth DeWitt, Communications Manager
KU School of Public Affairs and Administration
Emailed media requests will receive faster service.

SPAA Events & Deadlines
PMC Events, Classes & Deadlines
Ranked in the top 10 master of public affairs programs in the nation
—U.S. News & World Report
#1 in the nation for city management and urban policy

— U.S. News & World Report

#5 in the nation for public management

— U.S. News & World Report
Three faculty have won W.T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence
Rosemary O’Leary is KU’s Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor of Public Administration
Four MPA graduates have been elected president of the International City/County Management Association (ICMA)
Founder of the Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory (JPART)
Four faculty are National Academy of Public Administration Fellows
Bob Kipp, vice president of Hallmark Cards, was a 2012 recipient of the CLAS Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award
Kathleen Sebelius, U.S. secretary of health and human services, was a 2009 recipient of the CLAS Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award
KU Today
Connect with Us

Twitter Facebook

Stay Connected

Subscribe to our email list

* indicates required
Email Format

View previous campaigns.