• Home
  • Epp receives APSA Lasting Contribution Award

Epp receives APSA Lasting Contribution Award

Thursday, September 03, 2015

LAWRENCE — University of Kansas Professor Charles Epp has received the Lasting Contribution Award at the American Political Science Association’s Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

The Lasting Contribution Award is given annually by the Law and Courts Section, one of the largest sections in the scholarly APSA. It honors a publication that stands the test of time and has made a long-lasting impression on research in the field.

Epp received the award Sept. 2 for his first book, "The Rights Revolution: Lawyers, Activists, and Supreme Courts in Comparative Perspective," published by the University of Chicago Press in 1998, which also won the Association’s C. Herman Pritchett Award for best book in 1999.

In "The Rights Revolution" Epp showed that courts around the world are creating broader protections for individual rights. This increasing judicial attention to rights, he demonstrated, resulted from a growing “support structure” of rights-advocacy organizations and grassroots support for rights as much as from leadership by activist judges. The book, now cited more than 1,100 times in scholarly papers and books, is credited with opening a field of scholarship on how courts in many countries are responding to increased concern for civil rights and liberties. A recent paper called its influence on the field “pervasive.”

“I am honored to receive this award,” Epp said. “It’s been especially thrilling to see that scholars in so many other countries have found something useful in my book.”

Epp’s other books have also received acclaim. "Making Rights Real: Activists, Bureaucrats, and the Creation of the Legalistic State" was named an Outstanding Academic Title by the American Library Association, and "Pulled Over: How Police Stops Define Race and Citizenship," co-authored with colleagues Steven Maynard-Moody and Don Haider-Markel, was named an Outstanding Academic Title by the American Library Association and won the Best Book Award of the Section on Public Administration Research of the American Society for Public Administration.

Epp is a professor in the School of Public Affairs and Administration. He earned a doctorate in political science from the Univer­sity of Wisconsin-Madison, and his research focuses on law as an instrument of reform. He is on the executive committee and board of trustees of the Law & Society Association and is an associate editor of the Journal of Law & Courts.


Ruth DeWitt, Communications Manager
KU School of Public Affairs and Administration
Emailed media requests will receive faster service.

SPAA Events & Deadlines
PMC Events, Classes & Deadlines
Ranked in the top 10 master of public affairs programs in the nation
—U.S. News & World Report
#1 in the nation for city management and urban policy

— U.S. News & World Report

#5 in the nation for public management

— U.S. News & World Report
Three faculty have won W.T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence
Rosemary O’Leary is KU’s Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor of Public Administration
Four MPA graduates have been elected president of the International City/County Management Association (ICMA)
Founder of the Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory (JPART)
Four faculty are National Academy of Public Administration Fellows
Bob Kipp, vice president of Hallmark Cards, was a 2012 recipient of the CLAS Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award
Kathleen Sebelius, U.S. secretary of health and human services, was a 2009 recipient of the CLAS Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award
KU Today
Connect with Us

Twitter Facebook

Stay Connected

Subscribe to our email list

* indicates required
Email Format

View previous campaigns.