• Home
  • Cherry Picked - The Commons announces Red Hot Research participants

The Commons announces Red Hot Research participants

Friday, August 29, 2014

LAWRENCE — The third year of Red Hot Research presentations will kick off Friday, Sept. 5, at The Commons. In past years, researchers from 40 departments have shared 71 presentations about their current research pursuits. In keeping with the purpose of the event, presenters are asked to consider how other disciplinary perspectives could contribute to their research; the likely next steps for the research; and challenges that they face in conducting the research. In turn, audience members are asked to, from their own perspectives, offer insights, questions and ideas.

An additional goal of these sessions is to develop collaborative research teams as a result of overlapping interest and expertise.

This fall, the following faculty members will present as a part of Red Hot Research:

4 p.m. Sept. 5

  • Ruth Ann Atchley and Paul Atchley, psychology
  • Shannon Portillo, public affairs & administration
  • Clarence Lang, African & African-American studies/American studies
  • Bonnie Johnson, urban planning
  • Bryon Darby, design

4 p.m. Oct. 17
with KU Center for Sustainability

  • Belinda Sturm, civil, environmental & architectural engineering
  • Deborah Adams, social welfare
  • Bradley Lane, public affairs & administration
  • Jane Zhao, business
  • Paul Stock, sociology/Environmental Studies Program

4 p.m. Nov. 14

  • Byron Caminero-Santangelo, English/Environmental Studies Program
  • Mariana Candido, history
  • Uma Outka, law
  • Cathy Preston, film & media studies
  • Pam Fine, journalism

4 p.m. Dec. 5

  • Alex Diener, geography
  • Alfred Ho, public affairs & administration
  • Lumen Mulligan, law
  • Steven Duval, Spencer Museum of Art
  • Rich Glor, ecology & evolutionary biology/Biodiversity Institute.


Ruth DeWitt, Communications Manager
KU School of Public Affairs and Administration
Emailed media requests will receive faster service.

SPAA Events & Deadlines
PMC Events, Classes & Deadlines
Ranked in the top 10 master of public affairs programs in the nation
—U.S. News & World Report
#1 in the nation for city management and urban policy

— U.S. News & World Report

#5 in the nation for public management

— U.S. News & World Report
Three faculty have won W.T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence
Rosemary O’Leary is KU’s Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor of Public Administration
Four MPA graduates have been elected president of the International City/County Management Association (ICMA)
Founder of the Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory (JPART)
Four faculty are National Academy of Public Administration Fellows
Bob Kipp, vice president of Hallmark Cards, was a 2012 recipient of the CLAS Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award
Kathleen Sebelius, U.S. secretary of health and human services, was a 2009 recipient of the CLAS Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award
KU Today
Connect with Us

Twitter Facebook

Stay Connected

Subscribe to our email list

* indicates required
Email Format

View previous campaigns.